High School Musical Theatre Awards

The mission of the Orpheum’s High School Musical Theatre Awards program is to support, promote and enhance high school musical theatre throughout Memphis and the Mid South.

Modeled after the Tony™ Awards and now in its sixth year, The Orpheum’s High School Musical Theatre Awards recognize achievements in all areas of high school musical theatre. This event is part of the National High School Musical Theatre Awards program which includes 30 programs from across the country.

The Orpheum welcomes any high school within a 100 mile radius who meets the eligibility requirements as a participant in the program. Please see the Rules and Guidelines for eligibility. Applications for the 2016 HSMTAs are now closed.

Each submitted musical goes through an adjudication process where community judges attend the high school productions. The HSMTA judges are arts professionals within the Memphis community specializing in performance, directing, sound and lighting design, costume design and music orchestration and direction.

The year of High School Musicals concludes in a celebration of the passion, dedication and energy of all students and teachers involved in producing musical theatre. Participants gather at the historic Orpheum Theatre for a night of performance and awards presentation.

The 2016 Orpheum High School Musical Theatre Awards will be held on Thursday, May 26, 2016, at 7pm.

Applications are now being accepted for the 2016 HSMTA Student Technical and Creative Achievement Awards

Follow Orpheum Theatre Students and Families Facebook Page throughout the year for information each participating schools performances. Click Here to view videos from The National High School Musical Theatre Awards.

For more information contact Lindsay Krosnes at [email protected]


Technical and Creative Achievement Awards will be given for individual contributions by students. In order to evaluate the specific contributions made by students in technical and creative capacities, awards in these areas utilize a student-created portfolio in addition to production feedback from a submitted HSMTA musical.


Students whose work or contributions fit in any of the following areas may submit a portfolio to be considered for a technical or creative achievement nomination:

Creative Achievement:  (Up to 6 nominees) this category honors students who were part of the creative team for their production.  Areas of nomination include:

  • Lighting Design, Sound Design, Set Design, Props Design, Costume Design, Hair/Makeup Design, and Choreography

Technical Achievement: (Up to 6 nominees) this category honors students who were a part of the technical execution of their production. Areas of nomination include:

  • Stage Management, Technical Direction, Sound Execution, and Video Production (used as part of the show).

Application Process

There are three components to be considered for a technical or creative achievement awards.

1. Fill Out the online application by March 1, 2016.  

2. Submit a Portfolio by April 1, 2016 (digitally or delivered to Orpheum)

Portfolio Requirements:

  • 1-2 page personal essay about your experience
  • Resume
  • Director letter of recommendation

3. At least two supplemental pieces or artifacts that demonstrate the student work. The amount of supplemental materials provided in the portfolio is at the discretion of the applicant. Please note that the more information included in the portfolio allows for a stronger evaluation and sets up an applicant for greater success. Supplemental materials can include but are not limited to: Prompt book, Crew lists, Shift lists, Lighting plots, Sound plots, Design renderings or sketches, Cue scripts, Rehearsal materials, Video support or a highlight reel of a student’s process or work, Production photos.


Nominees will be announced on April 25, 2016
Supplemental materials due to Orpheum by May 2, 2016
Nominees will meet with the judges panel at TBD time between May 9-16, 2016

Participating Schools


Arlington High School The Pajama Game November 2015
Bartlett High School The Spitfire Grill  October 2015
Bolton High School Weird Romance April 2016
Blytheville High School Show TBA March 2016
Briarcrest Christian School Mary Poppins February 2016
Central High School Xanadu November 2015
Collierville High School Jekyll and Hyde April 2016
Cordova High School The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee April 2016
Corinth High School Little Shop of Horrors March 2016
Evangelical Christian School West Side Story February 2016
Germantown High School The Little Mermaid February 2016
Harding Academy Rodgers and Hammerstein's Cinderella February 2016
Hernando High School CATS October 2016
Houston High School Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dream Coat February 2016
Hutchison School Legally Blonde the Musical November 2016
Jackson Christian School Oliver! The Musical February 2016
Lausanne Collegiate School How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying April 2016
Lewisburg High School Beauty and the Beast Jr. March 2016
Memphis University School Damn Yankees April 2016
Milan High School Into the Woods Jr. February 2016
Northpoint Christian School Shrek the Musical February 2016
Olive Branch High School Anything Goes November 2015
Overton High School You're a Good Man Charlie Brown November 2015
Ridgeway High School Smokey Joe's Café April 2016
Senatobia High School Into the Woods Jr. April 2016
St. Agnes Academy Children of Eden March 2016
St. Benedict at Auburndale Kiss Me Kate  April 2016
St. Georges Independent School Bye Bye Birdie November 2015
St. Mary’s School Godspell February 2016
Tipton-Rosemark Academy Seven Brides for Seven Brothers April 2016
Whitehaven High School Once on this Island Jr. December 2015
White Station High School The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee March 2016
Wynne High School The Little Mermaid  March 2016
  • 203 S. Main Street
    Memphis, TN 38103
  • (901) 525-3000
  • 901-526-0829